My first small rig for festivals/beach parties. Need help.

• hyperionx
  • Topic Author
More
12 years 11 months ago #15266 by hyperionx
Trying to build my first cheap smallish rig for beach-parties, festivals and such. Decided to go with mth-30 for sub-bass. Been looking at mt-130 for mid/top but i havent decided yet.

I'm completely new to this so I have been reading and picking out some parts I like. Here's what I got so far. I bet most of its crap so I need your help. I might even be missing crucial parts of the setup as I have no idea what I'm doing.

My Netbook

M-Audio Fast Track Pro with 2 balanced outputs (¼” TRS)

Behringer CX2310 Super-X 2-Way Stereo/3-Way Mono Frequency Crossover

The T.Amp TSA 2200 Power Amplifier - 2x 590W/8ohm

one mth-30 and maybe one mt-130.

I'm still not sure if I should buy two amps and use the 3-way crossover for sub/mid/top or if I should make a passive crossover for the mid/tops.

Will the stuff I have found be enough to produce audio-waves? What should I add, remove or swap out to make things sound better/more. I'm on quite a tight budget right now which is why I'd also like to opportunity to upgrade with more cabs later on.

Also, I plan to move this crap around alot so weight and efficiency is also a factor as I might be forced to run them off a genny or inverter+batteries everynowandthen.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 11 months ago #15268 by nickyburnell
Not sure I'd use that mid top. It's big, how will you stack it, doesn't go that low to meet the sub.

Some sort of reflex 12 + 1" for a portable system, with a pole uo from the sub. Maybe even a 10" + 1".

A nice trap shaped box with high efficency stuff in it. Or even find some JBL JRX112 and change the comp for a nice one.

Use it all mono, one side of amp for sub, one for mid top.

Buy a DCX2496

• hyperionx
  • Topic Author
More
12 years 11 months ago #15270 by hyperionx
Thanks alot for your answer, really appreciate it :)